City of Elkhart Kansas


City Council 

The City Council is the main governing body of the City which meets the 1st and third Tuesday of each month. Six council members, two selected from each ward, serve for staggered two year terms. The Mayor is elected by a city wide election and serves as the chairperson of the Council.
The council has a diverse number of powers. In general terms it sets policy for the city, devises a budget for the year and approves it, appoints all of the members of the committees serving the city, approves all new hires with the city, and sets the tax levy for the city for the year. Additionally it determines speed limits within town, decides where stop signs should be placed, attends to the Water and Sewer utilities and maintains our large park system here in Elkhart. They also oversee the Police and Fire Departments.

Planning Commisson

The planning commission is appointed by the City Council to deal with the subdivisions, zoning changes and expansion of the city. The Commission itself is made up of 6 members, two of which are chosen from residents outside of the city limits that reside in Morton County. The planning commission normally nominates one member to be the chairperson of the commission and one to be the secretary. All of the members vote on issues. Normally the Planning Commission meets as needed

Send mail to the webmaster with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 2000-2015 City of Elkhart You can call us at: 620-697-2171